Reflections on unpacking standards

I’m a rebel against the systemic oppression of humanity, kindness, and community. We continue to witlessly be reaped by sickles, the wheat separated from the chafe in our universities. Even while pretending to heed the words of great humanitarians of history. Thoreau, Buddha, and Jesus are few of my personal favorites, but there are countless remembered and forgotten. Also, I’m completely clueless about how to make my small contribution to the community through education.
As an outsider coming in, my first instinct was to be suspicious or the common core standards, CCS. However, I’ve found that they set a very reasonable set of outcome for students. These are skills which are hard to argue against in the vast majority of cases. So, setting aside my issues with the structure of education, these outcomes are reasonable.

The CCS outcomes I’m dealing with are the science ELA standards. Since I teach in ELLs, they have given me hope about creating a course which will meet their needs in the future. My methods are not determine the CCS.

While the remainder of this academic year may not have complete guidance toward all the outcomes, I’ll at least get a start in the right direction. I’ll have an opportunity to design outcomes based on the CCS. Then I can plan my units, and finally my lessons. Using this backwards design process is sure to improve the experience gained by my students.

A specific example would be the standard I’m working on right now.

CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RST.9-10.7
Translate quantitative or technical information expressed in words in a text into visual form (e.g., a table or chart) and translate information expressed visually or mathematically (e.g., in an equation) into words.

I’ve created a set of outcomes with I’ve discussed earlier. I’m working on a unit and lesson to meet this standard.

Reflections on unpacking standards

Leave a Reply

